# **Bangladesh Association, Houston (BAH)**

Dr. Abdus Satter College Scholarship - 2016 Scholarship Guidelines

### **Scholarship Purpose:**

The Dr. Abdus Satter College Scholarship is to provide funding for qualified students seeking financial assistance.

## Application Deadline: July 15, 2016

### **Eligibility Criteria**:

- High School Grades (2016 graduates going for higher studies)
- SAT/ACT Score
- Reference letters (2)

## Application packet must contain the following:

- 1. Completed application
- 2. A personal statement (maximum length <u>2 pages</u>) about yourself; use this to highlight your achievements, your heritage, and your future goals. Please include a statement on how this scholarship will help you and your family. Emphasize your community engagements. The personal statement should be written professionally, double-spaced, 12 point font.
- 3. A (copy) of your HS transcript, showing GPA and class rank
- 4. SAT/ACT Scores
- 5. College Admission letter (from the College you have decided to attend)
- 6. Recommendation letters/certificates, at least one from a teacher, and one from the community organizations/events you are/were involved with
- 7. A photo of yourself

Mail (or email) these to: Afzal Ahmed: <u>afzalaahmed@yahoo.com</u> 16218 Constitution Lane Friendswood, TX 77546

#### **General Information**

- The completed application form with required materials must be received on or before July 15, 2016.
- The BAH Scholarship Committee will review and decide on recipients of the Scholarships.
- Selected recipients of the scholarships will be informed by phone/email before the BAH graduation ceremony honoring high school graduates.
- The Scholarships will be presented at the BAH graduation ceremony in July 26, 2016. The date and time of presentation will be shared with the recipients.
- In 2016, Scholarship will be awarded to 6 recipients for \$500 each
- All questions regarding this scholarship should be directed to the BAH Scholarship Committee; Secretary, Afzal Ahmed, <u>afzalaahmed@yahoo.com</u>

#### **Scholarship Committee members**

Chair: Dr. Abdus Satter

Secretary: Mr. Afzal Ahmed (Ex-Chairperson, Bangladesh Association)

Member: Prof Selina Rahman (Department Chair, Business and Computer Technologies - College of the Mainland) Member: Dr. Munir Quddus (Dean College of Business A&M)

Member: Dr. Selina Ahmed (Interim Chair, Department of Human Services and Consumer Sciences, Texas Southern University Member: Mr. Shahid Ullah (Oil and Energy Industry Expert)